Love Yourself and the Rest Will Follow

love 2

One thing that I have learned on my journey is that if you do not do it for yourself and no one else it won’t work. Looking in the mirror and saying “I need to lose weight because I am fat” or “because then maybe people will like me” do not work. Sure for the first few days it might, but ultimately you will just begin to feel discouraged or depressed. Having all these negative thoughts running through your head will not help you. It will not motivate you to keep going, it will just make you sad. Trust me…been there done that. Everything I used to do was to please someone else because “if you just put effort in you might be pretty”. Oh and those were words that came straight out of the mouth of the guy I used to be engaged to. He would always have wonderful little gems like that. Leaving him was the first step to leading a happy and positive life….anyway I am getting a little off track.

So in the past I would try and “make an effort” for that other person. I would hate myself for not being enough and then just give up when I wouldn’t get validation. Let’s just say it was a train wreck and very unhealthy. The moment that I decided I was going to be healthier because I loved myself (yeah I said loved myself) enough to do so everything changed. I stopped drinking soda. I started going for walks and then runs and I started being happier. Once I stopped hating my body because OTHER people hated it…I began to change (and am still changing because it is a journey). My weight became healthier, my stress began to drop, and I just began to feel better….again, the key was loving myself and appreciating myself and my body for what it is.

I am not going on a journey to get the illusive thigh gap (here is something you may not know…some people cannot get it…it depends on your body type.) I am not trying to reach a magic number so that I can suddenly be happy because guess what? If you don’t love yourself at weight X you wont love yourself more at weight Y. You have to love yourself at whatever weight you are and the rest will follow. Just focus on being healthier (everything in moderation…yes you can eat a cupcake!) and everything else will follow. Just do it for YOU, not one else but you. You are worth it!

Keep being Amazeballs! You Rock!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on June 22, 2016, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Eunice!

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

