Don’t Let The Past Steal Your Joy

happy 2

Have you ever had one of those days or even weeks when you look around and feel like you have are nowhere near where you “should be”? Or my personal favorite that you are “not where other people you age are”? Can I just say that those little words are lies? You do not need to be at a certain point in life and you don’t need to be like other people. All you need to be is happy! I hate that people think there is this invisible rule book stating what time lines you need to be following. I am 30 years old (31 on the 18th) and I do not have kids, and I am not married but apparently to some people this is a bad thing.

I was able to get my life back on track after multiple disasters (I wrote about them many times before). I freed myself from this insane debt that feel onto my lap. I was able to go back to school and get my B.S in public health and during that journey I got engaged to my soul mate. That to me is winning. Am I where I want to be? No, not yet but I will be. Does this make anything that I have overcome in the past any less significant? No not at all! That is why it is frustrating when people put their own standards onto others.

No one knows what you have gone through to get to where you are. No one can understand the sacrifices that  you have made or the tears that you have cried. The next time someone starts telling you that you should be “somewhere in life by now” just ignore it. No two people will have the same journey in life, you may have similar outcomes but your paths may be very different. Just because it may take you longer to get to point B or C in your life doesn’t mean anything. You will get to where you need to be when you are supposed to get there, not when others want you to get there. Do not for one moment let them get to you. You are at the point in life that you are meant to be and things will get better. You will get to where you are supposed to be. Just remind yourself that you are doing OK and take a moment to look how far you have come. You may not think it’s too far but it really is.

Keep being Amazeballs! You Rock!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on April 29, 2016, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

