Embrace Your Inner Lion

janice_cat

I love this picture of the little kitten because it really speaks to me. The little kitten doesn’t see itself as a little helpless kitty, it sees itself as a fierce and amazing lion! This little kitty knows the power of positive thinking. But all jokes aside, the way we see ourselves matters a lot. Unfortunately we are great at picking out our flaws and not so great at remembering what makes us wonderful. I will be honest, some days it is just hard to have a positive outlook. You can start off all happy and cheery and then everything begins to fall apart and it feels like your whole world is just crashing down.

Two days ago I went to an orthopedic surgeon for my knees. The news was not all that wonderful, I found out that I have arthritis, my cartilage is softening and wearing away, and the worst part (it may sound dumb but to me it was hard to hear) was that I need to stop running and jogging. I saw my self as a runner….as super slow runner, but still a runner. Now I was being told that I could no longer do that because it would just wear my cartilage down at an even faster rate. Long story short, I got in my car, cried, called Chris, and started just started going down the shopping list on why it sucks to be me. No, correction I started talking about how I suck. I mean how silly and stupid is that? I won’t lie, the rest of my day was shot. But then this amazing thing happened….the sun rose and it was a new day. So what did I do? I smiled, took a deep breath, and just realized that the world did not end and that I am still me. I am no worse off then before, I just need to get a bike and go from there.

Yes I know there are going to be clouds in my future but right now the sun is shining. I look in the mirror and I see myself….well the lion version of myself and nothing is going to stop me. And my advice to you is start seeing yourself as someone who is fierce and strong. Someone who can tackle the world because you know what? You really are all those things. There may be bumps in the road but that is not going to stop the amazingness that is you. You are stronger than you even know.

Keep being Amazeballs! You Rock!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on April 15, 2016, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

