The Revolution Begins for Girls Everywhere!!! :)

The revolution begins

I may be a little over excited about this but the options little girls are now getting are wonderful! I have posted about GoldieBlox (blonde one at the right who is an engineer and comes with kits to engineer stuff) but now it seems like the industry is finally getting a clue! We don’t need dolls that only focus on being skinny, we need dolls that engage young girls and shows them that there is no “ideal” image. My personal favorites are the comic book hero dolls! I WISH these were around when I was a kid! You would always see the boy action figures but there were never (and if there were it was scarce) female heroes to play with. Not that it ever stopped me…my Barbie did have times where she was Rogue from X-men lol

Why is this a big deal? Because this means that our voices are being heard! Young girls are so impressionable and having toys that reinforce that being different is ok is just amazing to me. They don’t have to settle on a doll who’s main focus is fashion and outfits (*cough Original Barbie). Yes, Barbie had different careers etc, but the iconic Barbie is tall, thin, and has blonde hair and blue eyes. These new lines of dolls are really a step forward. You have dolls in all shapes and sizes. They are heroes, smart, and most importantly now you have the girl next door. Not the fashion model next store, but the girl. How cool is that?

Slowly but surely society is hearing us. One day a girl will be able to look in the mirror and see nothing more than how awesome she is! She won’t have to worry about how she isn’t thin, or tall, or whatever, she will just see herself. How wonderful would that be? Granted there is still so much more to change but at least it is a step in the right direction. And no, I do not have kids yet, but you better believe she will have every female action hero or  Goldie blox I can get my hands on! Being different is ok and slowly that message is being heard. And as always…

Keep being Amazeballs! You Rock!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on March 18, 2016, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

