Exercise of The Week: Dumbbell Thrusters

strength-training-workout-that-doubles-as-cardio44

This week we are going to do the dumbbell thrusters. these are great as a full body workout as well as a great exercise to define your shoulders.  It is a great exercise and as an added bonus you could easily do these as you watch tv! I do recommend starting off with an 8-10 pound weight, but if you feel more comfortable with a 5 pound weight use that instead. Just make sure you push yourself a little but as always listen to your body! So how do you do it?

Start off  with your feet  approximately hip-distance apart. Now take your 8-10 pound dumbbells and hold them at your shoulders. Make sure not to slouch and brace your core. You should now look like (A). Next bend down into squat position (if you aren’t sure how to do a proper squat click here). You should now look like (B). Pause for about 4-5 second . Now, push into your heels to a standing position while pressing your dumbbells over head. Make sure that you are extending your arms all the way up so that dumbbells are above your head and over your shoulders. You should now look like (C). Finally lower the dumbbells back to your shoulders. That’s one rep. It sounds more complicated than it is. Pretty much you are squatting down with weights at your shoulders and then as you stand up you are raising dumbbells over your head. Add 10-12 of these to your workout. That’s it. Give them a try and let me know how you do!

Other Exercises:
Grasshopper Push Up
Balance Fly
Plank on an exercise ball
Dumbbell Chop
Dumbbell Swing
Jackknife sit-up
Bent Over Row
 
30 Day Fitness Challenges:
Ax Chop
Dumbbell swing
Jackknife sit ups
Russian Twist
Just Abs Challenge
Squats
Dumbbell squat thrust
About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on July 8, 2015, in Exercise of the week, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. oooh! So that is what a thurster is!!
    I have seem them listed on crossfit WODs and suchlike…
    I have done those many times but always called them Squat-presses or squat – overhead presses…
    I think thruster is more succinct 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah I find that a lot of moves have multiple names. I was doing a leg exercise that I though was called the “rainbow” (which sounds so nice) and my friend called it the triangle. Which I guess is accurate too. But I prefer Rainbow because it brings me happy thoughts LOL 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

