Don’t Ruin Your Day Because Of Your Past

dont-worry-be-happy-15-photos-57

You may have noticed that I went a week without posting anything and I apologize for that. Things got overwhelming and complicated so I wasn’t able to post. In fact, I found some time and am writing a few posts and setting them to release this week so that I don’t fall behind again in my writing. So today I want to talk about stress. We all have it, it isn’t the same for everyone, but we have all felt it in some way shape or form. For some people it is work, school, family, or something else like not being able to get that recipe just right. Either way it can really mess a person up. I have the unfortunate talent of being able to replay mistakes or situations over and over in my head so that they drive me crazy. I am getting better at shutting them off, but still it happens and it can sometimes be hard to shut off.

It is much easier to allow yourself to remember things that make you feel like crap instead of shutting them off. BUT that is actually a very bad thing to do. This is one of those things where you need to realize that you are doing it and force yourself to stop it. By thinking about past screw ups you will start to feel the emotions you did at that time. You may have felt dumb, worthless, or worse and reliving these moments in your head will bring those feelings back up. Trust me, I know this from experience and it can really ruin your day. Don’t do this to yourself! The experiences you have had cannot be erased, but this doesn’t mean you should keep reliving them. You have learned from your mistakes and you don’t need to feel worthless for making those mistakes. We all have something in our past we wish we could undo and if you don’t have one…..well you are lucky and possibly not human 🙂 But all jokes aside we have all made mistakes and that is OK.  Just don’t punish yourself for it.

Next time those negative thoughts start popping up in your head shut them off. Do not even allow yourself to entertain them even for a second! Take it a step further, and when you have a negative thought force yourself to remember a good one instead. Compliment yourself. Remind yourself of all the ways that you rock! Most of all remember to forgive yourself, because you are worth it.

~Don’t forget how amazing you are~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on April 2, 2015, in A Little Zen, Stress management and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

