Be who YOU are

untitled

I is really easy to walk into a room of people and begin to feel like you don’t belong. It is easy to feel like you aren’t dressed properly or that they look a certain way and that you don’t. Trust me, I have been there and done that a million times. The trick is learning how to stop that because there is no rule anywhere stating that you have to be anyone but yourself! You have to realize that you are perfect just the way you are. You are special, there is no one else in the world like you.

Two years ago I decided to go back to college and of course I am not what is considered a traditional student. So during my first few days at class I was amazed at how young all of my classmates were. I felt silly for even being there. I honestly felt like a fish out of water and I was so self conscious. But after a week or so I realized that there was no point for feeling that way. The only person that viewed me as “too old” was myself. The only person that thought it was weird that I was there was ME. I was pretty much my own bully. This was not the first time I was my own bully and it wouldn’t be the last. The thing is I have gotten a lot better at identifying this.

Want to know what the trick is? You need to fake it til you make it. Seriously! Whenever you hear those voices telling you that you are “not enough”. Just tell them to be quiet and then tell yourself why you ARE. One of the hardest things to do is give yourself a compliment. It can be hard to look in the mirror and see something special when people are telling you that you aren’t. Heck sometimes the only person saying that you aren’t is YOU! You just need to force yourself to say that those voices are wrong, that everyone else is wrong, that YOU are AMAZING! Start listing the things about you that you love and start embracing who you are. Once you do  you will start to notice how much better you feel. And honestly other people will take notice too.

So the next time you start feeling like you aren’t good enough just remind yourself that you are! That you are special, amazing, fantastic, and deserve to be respected. If anyone makes you feel like you aren’t, well that is really their own insecurity. All those people who try to push you down are just afraid that you will succeed. So prove them all wrong. And if you ever have a day where you just feel like you can’t find anything good about yourself just send me a message because even though we haven’t ever met, I know that you are the best thing since sliced bread!

Remember, you are amazing…it’s time you start acting like you are!

 

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on March 20, 2015, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

