Mind Vs Body

dont-worry-be-happy-15-photos-72I love pictures and art worth because they can really speak to you and help you start changing the way you think. I have what I call a motivation board and on it are pictures and sayings that help me focus on what I want/need. This is one of those pictures. If you have a board I recommend you post this picture right on it. You should never let negativity (yours or that of someone else)  make you feel bad about your body. There is no magical guidelines on what body shape is better than the other. Yes, the media tries pushing a body type on us, but we have started pushing back.

Everyone has things that they wish they could change about themselves, but I challenge you to start loving your body. I challenge you to look in the mirror everyday and say one nice thing about yourself. For some people this might be easy (so say 2 nice things instead of 1) for others that may be really hard because you are used to putting yourself down. When you feel negative thoughts coming on just ignore them and force yourself to say something positive. After a while you will start realizing that you are worth so much more than you give yourself credit for.

I have told my story in a post before. I was the poster child for negative self thoughts. I allowed someone in my life to make me feel worthless, fat, and ugly. Even when they “complimented” me it was always a backhanded remark such as: “you could be pretty if…”, “you would look nicer skinny”, “if you just dressed differently you might not look half bad”. That was my life for several years and eventually I had enough and left. But it took me a long time to stop thinking negatively about myself.

At first I tried the faking it thing…you know trying to pretend I was happy with myself. Forcing my mind to stop hating the rest of me was really hard, but then one day it just clicked. I realized that I was pretty awesome 🙂 I wasn’t all the bad things I was told I was. I was not a poor excuse for a person and I really liked my body shape. Slowly but surely I started to feel better and better about myself, and I want the same for anyone who reads this.

You are amazing. Your size and weight don’t define you. There is no one in the world exactly like you! You need to start accepting the awesomeness that is you and start realizing that what other people think or say doesn’t really matter. Love yourself. Tell the negative thoughts in your head to go take a hike and start replacing them with positive thoughts. Trust me, eventually something will click for you too. Just start by saying one positive thing a day and you will start to see a change in how you fell.

You are fantastic!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on March 13, 2015, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Just what I needed. Thank you for caring so much about others that you share wonderful, positive posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. I know what it is like to be down about who I am and what I look like and I never what anyone to feel that way. I really do believe everyone is amazing and I’m glad that my words can make at least 1 person feel better! Just remember you rock 🙂

      Like

  2. I love reading your blog, you are a great motivator! I wanted to let you know that I’m awarding you with a Liebster award if you’ll accept. The post went up today 🙂

    https://daytodaywithmanda.wordpress.com/2015/03/18/we-were-nominated-for-a-libster-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

