What Is so Bad About Just Being Yourself?

dont-worry-be-happy-15-photos-58 This picture may seem pretty basic, but it asks a very serious question. What is so wrong with just being you? It might sound like a silly question to ask, but how many times do you find yourself wishing you were someone else? How many times do you wish your height was different? Or that your hair was different? Or that you could act a certain way or be a certain way? Every time that you do this you are really just putting yourself down. Why?

You have the entire world trying to tell you that you need to meet certain standards and be a certain way, but you are different for a reason. There is no one in the world that is exactly like you, so why in the world would you try to be like anyone else? Don’t get me wrong I have done the same exact thing. I still do sometimes, but now I have become my own friend. I appreciate the uniqueness that is me and it makes me feel a little better about myself. It is no secret that once upon a time I was in a vary unhealthy relationship and it made me feel like I was not worth anything. Sadly, it took years to realize that the only way that person felt good about them self was by putting me down. You will find that there will be plenty of people like that in life, and you just need to get away from that.

Never listen to someone who says things like “you would be prettier if you just…” or things of that nature. Just because you don’t fit there little cookie cutter image doesn’t mean that you are not awesome in your own way. Again, there are billions of people in this world and NONE of them are exactly like you! Embrace that! Be who you are no matter what anyone thinks. Be happy and healthy and smile even if it annoys people. Yes, I know people who get upset if some smiles or even says good morning because “you don’t know it’s going to be good yet”. Yes, those people exist and that is sad to me. Why look at the negative side when there are so many positives things to think about.

Long story short, just be yourself. There is no need to be like someone else, the world already has one of them…what the world needs is you to be you.

Be Yourself Because You Are Amazing…end of story.

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on February 20, 2015, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

