The #LikeAGirl Campaign

likeagirlI have never been a fan of the Super Bowl or football in general, but this year as a favor to Chris I joined his fantasy football team. Really they just needed one more player so I joined it…but I used a guys name (it was an online league) so that they wouldn’t know it was me. Why did I do that? Well, I wanted a fair shot and didn’t want them offering me stupid trades or saying things just because I was a girl. I thought it was a little funny, went with the name Malcom Reynolds and my team was named Reaver Madness. I’m surprised no one figured it out, but then again how many people out there are fans of Firefly and Serenity. Anyway, that is how I got tangled into liking to watch football and watched the Super Bowl out of my own free will.

I always heard that the commercials were pretty neat during the Super Bowl, but this one stood out. (Okay 2 stood out because I would love playing real life PacMan!) There was an ad where they were asking boys and one grown man “Show me what it’s like to Fill in the blank like a girl”. The imitations the guys did were seriously absurd. Then the director asked the one kid if that was how his sister did things and he seemed shocked by the question and just said noooooo. Then the commercial decided to pull at my heart-strings and decided to ask young girls the same thing. It was amazing these girls were confident and did such a great job. If you can, try to watch the commercial!

But the most important thing this commercial did was shed some light on something that many people do. Say to people “you do that like a girl” and when that is said you know you did something in a bad/weaker way. Honestly, I never thought of that before. I know people have said things like that near me, or even tried making me feel like less because I was a girl. This is why I have worked extra hard to try to break those stereotypes. I remember having a sparing session in my karate class when I was younger. This guy I was sparing with decided to make a comment to me about “looking good in the skirt I was wearing earlier”….yeah I kicked him “like a girl”,  he flew backwards and was left stunned. He never made comments like that to me again.

All jokes aside we need to make sure that we stop associating doing something like a girl as a bad thing. These young girls in the video will eventually grow up and have to face all that negativity and have to fight to prove themselves. It is OUR job to make sure that they don’t have to fight as hard. I don’t care about which company is trying to send these positive message, I just care that they are. Slowly but surely it seems that there are enough people out there willing to say enough is enough. That being who you are is not a bad thing. That being yourself is all that matters.

Don’t let anyone ever make you feel like you are less! Don’t let anyone tell someone who you love that they are less. Your gender, size, weight, none of that define you…only you define you. This is what we need to tell ourselves. THIS is what we need to start believing. Every single person is special in their own way and we need to stop putting each other down. Try to say something nice about yourself today….try and give someone a compliment today. Just try spreading a little love around, trust me your day will get better.

You are amazing…end of story.

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on February 6, 2015, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

