Stress….One Size Does Not Fit All

1sizeNo matter who you are and where you live you are going to experience some form of stress in your life. If you say you have never experienced stress then you have never had a test in school or driven to work being someone going 15 miles under the speed limit. Unfortunately stress is a part of life, but it is different for everyone. I have a dear friend who always laughs at me when I start worrying about exams and finding time to study. In her mind I always get good  grades so I really shouldn’t worry about it. What she doesn’t consider is that I only get those grades because of the color coded note cards that I make and obsess over until the time of the exam. Of course that is just her trying to be supportive in a way. The thing is, just because she doesn’t think it is important doesn’t mean that it isn’t important to me.

That is the thing about stress…it is different for everyone. What is stressful to me may not be stressful for you and vice versa. Stress can come in all shapes and sizes and the way we all deal with it needs to come in all shapes and sizes too. One of the best things to do (that I have preached a few times) is to find something that you love to do and do it. If you begin to feel overwhelmed then stop what you are doing for about 15-30 minutes minimum and do something else. When I am studying I take breaks, partially out of fear that my brain will explode, but either way there are breaks. I watch tv, workout, bake something, play Xbox, it doesn’t matter what it is really. The most important thing is that you take a little time away so that you can focus on doing something you enjoy.

Taking time for your self is not a bad thing. It is a very necessary thing to do. You need to realize that you need to take time for yourself, especially when you are starting to feel stressed out. This doesn’t make you selfish or a bad person, it just means that you want to make sure your head doesn’t explode. I mean that sounds pretty reasonable. But all jokes aside constant stress can have a serious impact on your health and well-being. It is something that being hate admitting that they have, but it is something that everyone will deal with. Again, it may take on different forms for everyone but it doesn’t make it any less stressful! So, the next time that you feel like the walls are closing in on you, just stop and take a deep breath, and go do something else for a little bit. Trust me, the problem will be waiting when you get back but it might seem less overwhelming.

~You Are Worth It~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 22, 2015, in A Little Zen, Stress management and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the blog, Eunice. Indeed, it is not the same for everyone. You have some great points in this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

