Exercise of The Week: Pendulum Lunge

untitledIn my endless search for new exercises I found this one recommended by Jillian Michaels. I enjoy this one because I looks simple BUT it really gives you a workout. Plus if you lack coordination like I do this one adds a little more of a challenge. I laugh at myself when I realize that I am focusing really hard on making sure I don’t drop my dumbbell. So how do you do this? Well first you need an 8 pound weight (or which ever weight feels comfortable you can go lighter or heavier). Her recommendation is to do this exercise for 1 minute, take a 60 second break, and do it 2-3 more times. So how do you do it?

Start by standing with your feet together, and a dumbbell in right hand. Extend the arm with the weight in it out to your side, make sure it is at shoulder level. You should look like A. (This next step is when you will need some coordination) Now, lunge forward with right leg and at the same time pass dumbbell under your thigh to left hand.  You should look like B. Now that the weight is in the opposite hand you are going to extend your left arm out to side and step back up so starting position (with the weight in the opposite hand of course). Repeat on opposite side for one rep. Continue, alternating sides. That’s it 🙂

Other Exercises:
Grasshopper Push Up
Balance Fly
Plank on an exercise ball
Dumbbell Chop
Dumbbell Swing
Jackknife sit-up
Bent Over Row
 
30 Day Fitness Challenges:
Ax Chop
Dumbbell swing
Jackknife sit ups
Russian Twist
Just Abs Challenge
Squats
Dumbbell squat thrust
About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 21, 2015, in Exercise of the week, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

