Think Happy Thoughts

think_happy_thoughts

This week has been a challenge! I have been studying for finals (next week is finals week yay!) and have been preparing for a presentation that I will have to present in front of at least 100 people. I was told that over 500 invitations have been sent out and that thought has had me incredibly stressed. Sitting in front of a keyboard and letting my thoughts spill out is one thing, but having to stand in front of people and speak is another. 6 months of work will boil down to a 1 hour presentation thankfully I am only presenting half, but still it is stressful.

I do not speak in public. Do me a favor picture the color red…ok now that you have a color in mind you can apply it to my face! I turn red for no reason at all. But what I have been trying to do is take time to practice….and then reward myself. For every hour of practicing I allow myself 20 minutes of relaxing and doing something I like. Right now that has been playing some video games or jogging in place while I treat myself to some Parks and Rec on Netflix.

My point is that I am under a ton of stress. If this speech does not go well they may not accept it and I may not graduate from my University by May. It’s one of those times where I get those thoughts that say “your future is riding on this, you can’t fail”. But the truth is I might and it is scary, but the world will not end. Not only that why stress myself out to the point where I get paralyzed with fear?I practice, reward myself to reduce stress and try to block out those scary thoughts.

Well, I have my happy thoughts, my pixie dust, now let’s see if I can fly!

~Keep Moving Forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on December 4, 2014, in A Little Zen, Stress management and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. COPE= Confidence Over Prepared Effort

    Like

Leave a Reply

