You Are Exactly What You Think You Are……BEaUtiful

you are beautifulGoing to try something a little different today…I’m going to tell you a little story. Well, not really a story, but a piece of me. Anyway…

Once upon a time there was a little girl who felt so small she barely liked to speak. When her mother met her step father they moved out of the city and moved to a place called Sussex county. There she stood out like a sore thumb and it was there that for the first time in her life she was called a “Spik”. She was unsure of what that even meant because she never heard the word before, and that was when her friends explained that it was a bad word. And what did that bad word mean to her? It meant that someone thought that because of the color of her skin she was valued less than them. This was a strange lesson to learn at 14. When she lived in the city being Hispanic was not strange, and certainly not a reason to be told you were less than someone else.

Years passed and she learned the joys of having people watch you as you walk around the store because you may steal something. One time she even went into an antique shop and when the woman saw her enter she walked across the room to a table and removed all the silverware and then followed her around. Yes, once again the color of her skin gave people “reason” (and I say that sarcastically) to think that she was less than they were.

And then there was the joys of dating life where she became engaged to someone who fit in with everyone else. Every day he would tell her something along the lines of “you could be pretty if you just tried” or “you could be pretty if you wore make-up”. Or her personal favorite “you could be pretty if you acted like a girl”. She did not really think much of it. She was always told she could be pretty IF. Every time she would hear the “IF” she would feel a little smaller and feel like she was less. Like she was lucky that someone would even be with her, because after all he would remind her everyday.

One day she had enough and left him. She went home and cried. She did not cry because of leaving the guy she was with, but she cried because she didn’t have any self-worth any longer. It took a while, months in fact. Then one day she walk out of the shower, cleaned the steam off the mirror and was amazed. For the first time she looked at her reflection and smiled. It was in that instant that she realized that she was ENOUGH. It may sound silly but it was a moment I will never forget, it was like a light went off in my head. It was then that I decided I WAS pretty…just exactly how I was. I didn’t need to act like a girl or wear make up. I was ME and there is no one in the world that is exactly like me. This made me special and this is all that mattered.

People could think whatever they want about me. They could tell me I’m short, but now I call it fun size. They could tell me I’m fat, but I call it curvy…They are called hips they are firm and they are there. It is how my body was designed…if you don’t like my hips discuss it with the bones inside 🙂 Really the point I am trying to make is that my skin color, height, shape, etc are not the things that define me. My heart and my kindness make me beautiful everything else is just window dressing (as they say). That is what people need to start realizing.

Go look at the mirror and see yourself for who you really are. You are the only one out of the billions on this planet that is exactly like you. Let that sink in…YOU are the only person who is and will ever be like you. That makes you special. That makes you amazing. That makes you beautiful and there is nothing in this would that anyone can say that can ever make you less than you are. The words and thoughts of another person mean nothing. The only thing that matters is how you see yourself, and you are wonderful. Just Be You.

~Remember you are amazing~

 

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on October 17, 2014, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

