Living in a world of stress and learning how to deal

toon972

Stress. The one thing that has tried to become my best friend in the last month or so. I work Full-time, go to the University, am doing my Internship, am president of a club, and the list goes on and on. I like to joke that I have no life and it has started to almost become true. It’s to the point where sometimes I dream about working! My job does not help in this either with all the unnecessary stress that it has recently begun to add. My calendar is a color coded mess of meetings and appointments, it’s a bit crazy, and sometimes I can feel overwhelming.

Luckily I know when I need to take some time out and just sit back and relax, even if it is only for half an hour. It really makes the difference. I am going to school for Public Health and it (along with my goal to become the best version of myself) has helped me to realize just how stress can affect your body. According to the American Heart Association stress  “can contribute to everything from high blood pressure, also called hypertension, to asthma to ulcers to irritable bowel syndrome”. These are pretty bad things to get, or at least they are to me. I have asthma…an asthma attack is horrible! You don’t want it.

Knowing what it does to you body is all well and good (an a little scary) but what can you do about it? Well, you can always talk with someone about your stress….but I find that the best thing to do is set time aside for yourself. Just go and do something you like such as baking, exercising, reading, painting, meditating, the list goes on and on. Some people may look at me funny for saying I enjoy exercising but it is true. There is no better feeling in the world than lacing up my sneakers and going for a jog. It is like I am literally leaving my problems behind and they are unable to catch up. I have mentioned it in other posts but for me jogging is like therapy…it is the only time where my brain shuts off and I can truly just be in the moment. The same thing can be said when I am trying to create a new frosting recipe (which reminds me it has been a while since I put a recipe on here). The point is you need to find your own outlet.

Find the one hobby you enjoy and allow yourself to do it. Yes, I said allow. When you feel the weight of the world on your shoulders it is hard to feel like you deserve a break. Trust me you do! You are not going to win awards for being “most stressed”. I mean I guess you could but who wants that? You need to realize that you must take time for yourself…your health and well-being depend on it! And if you feel like you need permission to set at least 30 minutes aside for yourself consider this your permission! Just tell yourself  “I cannot keep going in this direction. I deserve a break and am going to fill in the blank”.  Once you do this you will start to notice that you will feel a lot better. Just give yourself that break, you are worth it. And as always…

~Keep Moving Forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on September 25, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

