Exercise of The Week: Split Jump…easier than it sounds!

split jumpThis week we are going to do the split jump. I will admit that the first time I heard the name of this exercise I did not want to try it. I imagined myself in a ninja costume jumping in the air and doing splits! Little did I know that it really had nothing to do with splits…but more to do with lunges. I recommend mastering the basic lunge before trying to do these. If you don’t know how to do them click here. Once you master the basic lunge you can upgrade to these. So how do you do these?

Hold a pair of dumbbells (2-5lbs) at your sides, palms facing each other. Stand with your left foot in front of your right foot and lower your body into a lunge position. You should look like (A). Now jump and switch your feet in mid air (if ! can do it so can you!) like in (B).  You should be landing on your opposite feet, lower yourself into a lunge. You should now look like (C).  Repeat, alternating back and forth with each repetition. Do this for 2 sets of 10.

Need more ideas? Try these:

Other Exercises:
Laying Chest Fly
Pistol Squat
Twisting Knee Tuck
Reverse Crunch
Lateral lunge and press
Plie Squats and side kick
 
30 Day Challenges:
Ab Challenge
Squat
Mountain Climbers
Tricep Dip
Jacknife Sit Up
Dumbbell Squat thrust
 
 
About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on September 24, 2014, in Exercise of the week, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

