Stressed? Best Excuse To Do Something You Love

 

DO WHAT YOU LOVEI don’t know about you but for me it can be a little hard to take time out for myself when I feel like I have a million things I should be doing. In case I haven’t mentioned it before I go to a university full time, work a full 40 hours per week, and am doing my internship on top of all of that. Throw in trying to have a life and well things just get even more dicey. Needless to say it can be overwhelming at times. As you know I have two major passions…fitness and baking. When I am feeling overwhelmed I make sure to stop what I am doing, take a deep breath, and try pressing through….but sometimes that is Not enough! Sometimes you just need to stop and distract yourself!

Stress can have a major impact on your health and can lead to depression. There is no reason to punish yourself when you begin to feel overwhelmed. It is hard trying to deal with everything that is going on and sometimes you just need to hit pause and take a break! There is actually something to this! The American Heart Association even recommends doing something you love to do to reduce stress! According to them doing something you like to do is a natural stress reliever. Doing something as simple as going for a walk, reading a book, or backing a delicious cupcake can help you deal with the stress. What a great excuse to take a break and take time for yourself!

Don’t feel guilty for taking a break and just taking time out for yourself. Think of it as rewarding yourself for dealing with the stress and not curling into a ball and rocking back and forth in a corner. Not only that, but you need to realize that you are worth it and you deserve time to take for yourself. Go ahead, take 15 minutes at the minimum and just do something that makes you happy. You aren’t avoiding the stress…it will be there when you get back, but maybe it won’t seem as bad. You would be amazed at how much better you will feel afterwords.

In other words: Just make sure to take time out for yourself, don’t get pulled down by your stress. No matter how hard things get they WILL get better!

~Keep Moving Forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on August 21, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the wonderful inspiration! It’s amazing how taking time to do something you like can make stress disappear quickly. In fact it often burns into pure joy 😀

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 Sometimes you just need to take a step back and it will make the difference. People sometimes forget that it is ok to take time for themselves. We just need to realize that doing so can make some stress melt away.

      Like

Leave a Reply

