No Matter What Happens…Just Breathe and Keep Smiling

hakuna-matata

If anyone ever tells you that you can’t learn anything from cartoons they are freaking liars! Apparently, the Lion King has inspired me this week and last week (see here) but it works. If the lessons apply then they apply, who cares where they are from. This week it is all about letting stress go in your life…Hakuna Matata…no worries. It is so easy to let your surroundings just weigh you down without even realizing it. Life tends to have moments where you feel like the walls are crashing in on you and there is no  way to escape. This worrying will have the tendency to bleed out into other aspects of your life, it is something you need to be weary of.

Recently, there have been a ton of changes happening at my job. People have been fired and there is a lot of restructuring going on (I work in a small place). Needless to say it feels like everyone is walking on egg shells. My surroundings have been so negative that it has “dulled my sparkle” so to speak. I like to joke that I burp sunshine and poot (yes poot) rainbows (even if im having a bad day I will just fake it) but lately I noticed that changed. I was walking down the hall one day and noticed that there was no smile on my face, and that I stopped humming songs to myself. This might not seem like a big deal to anyone, but it was a horrible revelation to me! I was letting the mood of  everyone else dictate my mood. It literally stopped me in my steps.

I took a deep breath, put on a smile, and said “screw this”… okay maybe my words were a little stronger but still you get the point. I made the decision to be happy and stop worrying over things that might happen. Every single day you wake up, something “bad” might happen, but at the same time something amazing might happen too. Why spend your day dreading the bad? You have the power and the ability to make the decision to be happy, no one else. Sure, you can let someone else dictate how you feel, but do you really want to give someone else that power over you?

When you feel yourself starting to spiral into a sad and depressed funk just remember the words of Timon and Pumbaa…Hakuna Matata. No worries. Because no matter what life throws your way you are going to make it. You will persevere and keep living! No matter how bad things get, just take a moment, take a deep breath, and smile. Life is too short to spend it worrying. And above all else just…

~Keep Moving Forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on June 12, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

