Turn Ordinary Cake Mix Into Portable Tiny Treats!

Basic Poppet

The Basic Poppet

So it has been a while since I have posted anything for Tasty Tuesday. I apologize but time has not been on my side. Thankfully I still have been able to keep up with my workouts but life is too short not to eat sweets. It is all about moderation! So anyway…these are my new creation. I call them Poppets. It is getting warm out and starting to become picnic weather, and while I love cupcakes I wanted more portability.  I will admit I am a little touched in the head and if I am going to bake a cupcake it must look beautiful upon arrival. Yes, I do put my cupcake carrier in a seat belt when I drive. I want those puppies intact 🙂 While walking through a store I saw this baking pan for these things called cakepops…and will I bought it. Yay impulse buys.  Imagine 2 pans that make half circles…that is what you need if you want to try making these. You can find them at your local craft stores or places like Target’s baking pan aisle.

This pan can open up a whole new world for you! The combinations are endless and the pan size that I bought is small enough to fit in a toaster oven so yay! If you have a boxed cake mix just use it, the results will still be great! So what makes a Poppet a Poppet? Well it is cake in the center, a nice chocolate (or any flavor) coating, and fun decorations.  You chill them so the outer later gets nice and hard, and you can load them in a Tupperware and be on your way. These turn an ordinary box mix into something people will think you spend hours on! I do recommend 2 little pans if possible to just make the production faster, but if you just want to try it out go with 1. Also if you want to add spots of color to your cake, just add a few sprinkles into the batter! It might seem like a lot of steps but it really is an easy recipe. If you know how to make box cake mix you are half way there!

Ingredients
Yellow cake mix (follow directions on the back of the box.)
16 oz chocolate candy melts
round sprinkles
wax paper (to place poppets on)

Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit Make your cake mix according to the directions on the box. Set aside.

2. Carefully grease both sides of your cake-pop pan. This is very important because you do not want your cake to stick to the pan!.

3. Take some of the batter and place it in a pastry bag (if you don’t have a pastry bag just get a ziplock bag and cut the tip.) Squeeze enough batter into the side without the holes in the center. Batter only needs to go on the one side, make sure you fill them enough where it is slightly higher in the center. The little cakes will rise and fill out the empty side of the pan.

4. Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center. (that is what that little hole is for)

5. Remove from oven and let the pan cool for 10-15 minutes! Do not attempt to pull apart this pan before this time. Trust me in will only result in you crying because you broke all of them in half.

6. After the pan is cooled carefully remove the top. You may need to use a knife to get it open, just be careful.

7. To remove cakes from pan gently wiggle them around in a circular fashion or gently use a knife. I recommend the wiggle. Place on a cooling rack.

8. While the poppets cool take a nice wide deep  cup (like the ones you can use to eat soup out of) and fill it slightly above halfway with the chocolate wafers. Microwave for 1 minute or until chocolate is fully melted. If after one minute it is not melted then put in in for another 30 seconds.

9. Take a poppet and place it in the chocolate. Spoon the chocolate over the poppet until it is fully covered. With a fork gently remove the poppet, tapping gently on cup to remove excess chocolate.

10. Place on a place covered with wax paper. Immediately cover in sprinkles or nuts.

11. Repeat with remaining poppets. Place in the refrigerator for at least 10-15 minutes. You want to make sure the coating is nice and hard.

12. EAT!

 

~Happy Baking~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on June 10, 2014, in Cakes and cupcakes, Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

