You Are Awesome…Yeah YOU

love-your-body

It is so easy to look in the mirror and point out every single flaw possible, imaginary or real. It is easy to look at magazines and say that you wish you looked like the model on page 43 and then hate yourself because you don’t look like that. Truth is most of the time the models don’t look like that either! Airbrush is a magical tool that can make everyone look “flawless”, it isn’t real. Yes model’s are usually very pretty, but they are very far from perfect. Either way, who cares about that? Who says you should look like that? People are like snow flakes, no two are exactly a like, yes even twins have their differences. Don’t ever compare yourself to someone else what is the point? You are special in your own way and that makes you awesome.

I remember when I first started on this journey to “be a better version of me”. I started working out and eating a little better…I just had not started working on how my brain worked. I still remember the day where I was looking in the mirror and started picking out EVERY possible thing I saw as “flaws”. I was horrible to myself! Seriously, even my worst enemy would have told me to stop being so mean to myself. I was ruthless! And then by some miracle I realized what I was doing…I was giving into what “society” says is imperfect. By society I mean the media of course (it’s no secret I think the media needs help). I was cutting myself down instead of looking at what I accomplished in as little as a month!

I stopped, shook my head, and was genuinely disappointed in myself. Not because I have curvy hips (who I have grown to adore) or because I am not 5’7″ (I am fun sized), but because I let myself down. I was working (and still am) so hard to make changes and have actually made progress, yet it was not enough for me. It was a sad realization for me and it was something that I had to change. I looked back in that mirror and started focusing on the positive things that I had done. I was not about to let myself be my worst critic!

Everyday we see commercials telling us all these creams and make up brands we need to be beautiful. We see movies where the weird girl has to under go a makeover to become beautiful yet, all that changes is her hair and make up. She was always beautiful, she was always herself, they just changed the outside…and that is not what should matter. That is the wrong message that we are sending, and the wrong message we are listening to. This image is what makes many of us look in the mirror and  causes us to pick out flaws. We need to stop this.

We need to look in the mirror and embrace how awesome and unique we are. We need to realize that we are all special for a reason, and are all awesome! No one can ever be like you and that is great. Stop focusing on being like other people, and just focus on being the best version of you. Don’t ever let anyone or anything dictate the way you should look. Be you because put simply…you are awesome!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on June 6, 2014, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

