Screw Perfect…Eat the Freakin’ Cupcake!!!

cupcakes and self

Being perfect means working out a million hours a week, never touching sweets, and of course fitting in to those super teeny skirts and the pod people devoured my brain. If you haven’t realized it yet, Fridays are the days where I try to motivate everyone to say “screw the media, I am perfect how I am”. It is one thing to want to be healthy and a total other thing to torture yourself because you don’t fit in this cookie cutter mold of “perfection”.

To those people who can get vegetarian or vegan congrats I admire you! And I enjoy many of your delicious foods.You really are a goal to aspire to, seriously.

To the gym rat…Rock on! Keep up the amazing work, your body and heart also thank you. You are able to take hours out of your day and rock that body good job!

To the average person who does the best they can with the time they have. I salute you! Your juggling of family, work, health, and everything else life throws at you is awesome!

The list goes on and on but now I have to ask…which of these is the “perfect” person? What makes one of these groups better than the other? Who is the person that makes the decision on what it means to be perfect, the media? Yeah… they can’t even make up their own minds!So back to my answer…who decides what we need to look like. My answer? The person who stares back at you when you look in the mirror….YOU.

The only person whose opinion should ever matter is your own. You need to accept yourself as you are and not punish yourself over things that don’t matter. On this journey to be a happier and healthier version of yourself you will mess up. You will have days where you slip up and that is ok as long as you pick yourself up and try again. I will admit it, during finals week I was not very responsible with my diet (by diet I mean what i ate…i could never be on a diet 🙂 ) and exercise. Now that it is over I am back to my regular scheduled workouts and my eating has gone back to normal…does this mean I should be beating myself up? NO!

We are all human and what makes us great is out ability to bounce back and keep moving forward. So what if you decided to eat a cheese burger instead of a salad today? Does that mean that you have messed up all of your work? No way. Don’t beat yourself up over something silly like that. Being healthy is a reward, not a punishment. You should never feel like you need to hit the gym for 3 hours a day just because you ate a cupcake, or had an extra cookie. Just make sure you eat according to your goals, and if you do reach for a cupcake that is ok. Cupcakes are delicious! Try and take away my cupcakes and I WILL hurt you. This of course by no means eat a dozen at once. Just choose wisely. Tomorrow is another day, and you can always do better tomorrow.

The moral of this story? Don’t let anyone tell you what you need to look like or who to be. As long as you work on being the best version of yourself possible, who cares what anyone else has to say? It is okay to make mistakes. It is okay to not fit into that cookie cutter mold that the media tries to insist we fit in. It is okay to color outside of the lines as long as you are being true to yourself. Only you can decide what is perfect and beautiful…forget what others have to say. You were made differently than everybody else and that is perfectly okay. So next time you start feeling down about yourself just stand in front of a mirror and remind yourself whose boss. Tell yourself “I am amazing and there is no one else in the world like me. I may not be perfect but I am a work in progress. I will be the best version of myself that I can be.” And my last piece of rambling thoughts….it’s okay to eat a freaking cupcake, the world will not explode. Think happy thoughts and as always…

~Just keep moving forward~

 

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on May 23, 2014, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yep! Just do the best you can with what you have. Everything will fall in line at some point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

