Smile and Keep Telling Yourself “Today Will Be Awesome”

be-happyI live by the motto “fake it til you make it”. It might sound strange but sometimes you just have to force yourself into believing that everything will be ok and not suck. Some days are harder than others but it really does help to try to look at the glass half full. For example this past week there was some kind of race going on and every single possible route to get to my house was blocked off. No exaggeration I attempted 3 different ways home before pulling off to speak to a cop when I was literally 1 minute away from my house and not allowed to pass. His response was to look at me with a slightly condescending  smirk and tell me to try driving half an hour and attacking my dilemma from the opposite direction!

Instead of freaking out and yelling curse words out loud to myself (I was close to this), I just took a deep breath (I am all about deep breaths)  said out loud “I will not let this ruin my day”. And you know what? It didn’t! I chose to focus on the positives and not let it get me down. The day ended up turning out better than expected. The detour provided me with some time to just enjoy the area and get some way overdue shopping. Yay pot holders! But seriously, if I would have let this small thing ruin my day I would have missed out. This is why ii is important to make a conscious decision to have a good day.

Yes, there are things that might pop up in your day and throw you off, but only you can let it ruin your day. You have more power that you give yourself credit for. You just have to remember that. When things start to feel like you are losing control, just take a moment to pause, acknowledge your feelings, and then move on. Make the decision to smile even when you feel like punching someone in the face. Fake it until you make it! You have all the power, don’t let anyone or anything take that away. And as always, just….

~Keep Moving Forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on May 22, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

