Beauty vs. The Scale…The Future Depends On It

little girl

To me it seems like the media is constantly trying to force everyone to the same standard of “beauty”. This message is incredibly troublesome to me because I do not believe that beauty can be defined by the clothes you wear,  the amount of makeup you wear, and especially not by the measurements of your bust ,waist, or weight. Magazines that tell you to love yourself on one page seem to tell you that you still need to lose 10 more pounds.  Even celebrates have been caught Photoshopping their own home photos to make that elusive thigh gap appear. And let me just side rant about that one for a minute…If you have strong muscular legs you will not have a thigh gap! Be proud of that!!!

Anyway I digress… back to my normal rant 🙂 We are letting people who really don’t matter tell us what they define as beautiful. I have met many people in my life that were labeled “beautiful” and were some of the cruelest people I have ever met! On the other hand there are people who are considered average that I believe are just beautiful or amazing. People that could light up the room with just one smile or that could make you melt with the love in their voice. These are the type of people who are truly beautiful. And THIS is what we need to start focusing on because the future kind of does depend on it.

We have young kids seeing these images everywhere and this can lead to serious consequences down the road. And I do not mean just for girls, but boys too. If we can just stop accepting and perpetuating other people’s standard of beauty we can make change. The problem is we need to make the first step and stop judging ourselves. We need to stop comparing ourselves to other people, and stop using their standards to define us. WE must accept that we are beautiful or handsome because we are all very special. There is no one in the world could ever be like you and that in itself is amazing.

You are unique, special, amazing, and beautiful. Don’t ever let anyone take that away. Our decisions will have a deeper ripple effect than we realize, so make the decision to love yourself. Make the decision to say NO to the standards that the media has set. And most of all start accepting yourself for who you are, I guarantee you that person is more interesting than the one you are forcing yourself to be!

~love yourself~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on May 16, 2014, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

