Homemade Cheddar Bay Biscuits….Yes Please!

a

I will be very honest, the only reason I ever chose to go to Red Lobster was because of the biscuits NOT the sea food. Those warm delicious biscuits were what kept me coming back for more. I am not ashamed to say that there were times I asked for an extra so that I could bring them home. It was an addiction…I have gone to meetings and am better 🙂 Well after scouring the internet and trying and failing various times I have a found a recipe that is incredibly close. And the best part?…you use Bisquick to make them. Yes, Bisquick that pancake mix, it is incredibly versatile. They are quick, easy, and you can customize them in any way you want. I like to add a tiny bit of chopped pickled jalapeño to the dough for a little extra kick. Other great add ins include chopped up broccoli or ham. You can either dress this up or keep it as it is, either way you will not regret it!

Ingredients:

Biscuit
2 ½ cups Bisquick
4 Tbsp cold butter
1 cup cheddar cheese shredded
¾ cup milk
¼ tsp garlic powder
 
Butter Glaze
3 Tbsp butter
½ tsp garlic powder
¾ tsp dried parsley flakes
* if you want to add a little heat just add a dash of red pepper flake, it is not like the Red Lobster biscuits but it is delicious.

 Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease cookie sheet or line with parchment paper.

2. Combine Bisquick with cold water in a medium bowl by cutting it in. It is okay if there are small pieces of butter the size of peas. Add cheddar cheese, milk, and garlic powder. Mix by hand until combined, but don’t over mix.

 3. Drop small portions of the dough onto the cookie sheet. Bake for 11-13 minutes or until the top begin to turn brown. Make sure that you keep an eye on these because they can go from golden to burnt in seconds.

 4. While biscuits are baking, melt butter in a small bowl. Stir in garlic powder and dried parsley flakes. Use a brush and spread the butter mixture over the biscuits.

5. Serve.

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on April 29, 2014, in Recipes, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

