Oh Media…When Will You Make Up Your Mind

whaaaajpg

I found this imagine as I was searching through the inter-webs (yes, I know it is called the internet…I don’t care 😛 ) and it really just sad! These magazines are the ones that many people buy on a regular basis and they have such a mixed message. One is trying to tell you to lose weight fast and the other is saying fast may not be good. I say instead of either focusing on people being thin, it should focus on people being healthy instead?! Seriously, all these messages on the media can leave someone confused and depressed!

Thin does not equal beautiful. There are people who are thin that are beautiful and the same thing can be said about curvy individuals. Being thin has nothing to do with a persons worth or beauty. Beauty comes from the inside out, not from the size of your waist. Do not get me wrong I am not saying sit on your couch everyday eating ice cream nonstop (though admit it sometimes it is tempting), but I am saying that it is time to look in the mirror and love what you see. Work to be the best version of yourself possible. Focus on being happy and healthy. If being healthy means losing a little weight so that you are at a healthy BMI then go for it. If it means being able to go up a flight of stairs without being winded, then focus on that. It is all about small steps toward the ultimate goal of being healthy not toward being thin.

The bottom line is…who cares if you are thin or curvy?! Don’t let the media tell you because clearly they have no clue either. On one hand they are telling you one thing and on the other they are saying the total opposite. All I am saying is that it is time we stop looking to the media to tell us who we are and what we should look like. Forget being thin be healthy instead. Losing weight so that people could call  you “thin” will not make you happy, but being healthy and loving the skin you are in will! Life is too short to try and live up to other peoples standards. Be yourself, love yourself, and the rest will follow.

~Love yourself and keep moving forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I totally agree!!
    I found similar problems when I was looking for a magazine to read a while back!!
    http://midsummer365project.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/extra-crazy-back-to-front-media-stuff-and-things/

    Like

    • Yes it is horrible! I hate how hard it is to get good advice without it being turned around or focused on getting super skinny! I just read your post and it is crazy that it was under women’s interest!

      Like

      • It is madness isn’t it!

        “get skinny, quickly with no effort, and if you can’t be bothered to do it here’s the cosmetic surgery!”

        I am so glad there are others out there who are angry about this message!

        Like

      • It is ridiculous and the only way it will change is if people try and speak out against it. Right now there is someone in congress who is trying to pass laws against the use of Photoshop in magazines. Her daughter has had a constant battle with eating disorders, and they want to create change. Apparently in the US magazine covers are protected so they can do whatever they want 😦

        Like

      • That is crazy!

        I have nothing against photoshop for altering lighting etc but actually changing the size / shape of a person is ridiculous! I know it happens all the time, and examples of it are so prevalent that you can’t even tell what is real!
        I am just lucky to be cynical enough to recognise it. It is such a shame that there are so many people who believe it is real and try to emulate it. It is not surprising either, the images are everywhere!

        Like

  1. Pingback: Screw Perfect…Eat the Freakin’ Cupcake!!! | Eunicakes

  2. Pingback: You Are Awesome…Yeah YOU | Eunicakes

Leave a Reply

