Love Yourself They Say…Unless You are Not a Size 0… I Cry Shenanigans!

love yourself It seems to me that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Right now, more than every we are getting bombarded with positive messages about loving yourself and accepting who you are….and then shortly after hearing messages or commercials about ” lose 10 pounds with this one drink”. It is maddening! You DO NOT need to lose 10 pounds to love yourself! Even some of my fitness magazines say the same thing! It is like  half the magazine says you are perfect the way you are…and then the other half says you can only be happy if you are a certain weight. How can the same place have the exact polar opposite message?! Wanting to lead a happy and healthy lifestyle is one thing, and being the weight that someone else wants you to be is another.

If you decided that you want to be healthier then focus on that. If you want to lose a few pounds, ok great, but do not let that define you! You are more than a number.  There is no reason that everyone needs to be 105lbs with the ridiculous thigh gap. I am not going to lie, I am 5’2″ and that will never be my goal! I don’t need a thigh gap, I need strong legs that can carry me anywhere. I don’t need to be 105 pounds (I would look like a bobble head), I need to stay at a weight that is healthy and I feel comfortable in.  I never want anyone else’s perceptions of beauty define me and neither should you. Every single person on earth is built differently, has a different story, and a different perspective. To assume that all these different people should conform to the same exact standards is ridiculous.

Love yourself for who you are no matter what. Curves and all. It does not matter is you are curvaceous or have a very skinny frame. Go look in the mirror, smile, and say “I am freaking amazing”! There is no one else in the world like you. You are unique so why try to be a clone of someone else?  If in the beginning you don’t believe that you are awesome, just keep telling yourself this every single day…One day you will say it and it will finally click in your head. Don’t give up on yourself. Focus on being happy and healthy. These are choices that only you can make for yourself. Don’t let anyone else define you. Choose to be happy and healthy, forget about getting down to a size zero. Embrace your curves!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on April 18, 2014, in Fitness, Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

