It Really Is All About You

marilyn2

It is easy to get stuck in the mentality that the only size a woman should be is size 0, but that is something that everyone needs to get away from.  Every one has a different body type, everyone carries their weight differently, every one is just plain different. I have seen many beautiful people in all shapes and sizes, and to be very honest they were NOT a size 0. Society has us programmed to believe that being skinny is the only thing that matter, but that is not true at all. The most important thing that matters is that you are happy and healthy, and a size 0 is not going to change that.

The other day I read an article about a woman who got liposuction at the age of 18 because all her life her mother made her feel like she was “fat”. Her mother even went af far as paying for her to get the liposuction. After she received the liposuction she said she saw  that they areas that received the lipo now had little loose flaps of skin (no, this doesn’t always happen for everyone) and she just ended up feeling even more self conscious. To this day she regrets having the liposuction, but has of course forgiven her mother.

See that is part of the problem. We get these messages about our bodies and how we should look from a very young age. People talk about kids loosing “baby fat” once they start school or tell them how they have cute little thunder thighs. Or my personal favorite the “child-bearing hips”. These little terms that we say to children and to each other really make more of an impact than we could ever really imagine. We even begin to do it to ourselves!

I remember looking in the mirror once when I first started on this journey to be a healthier version of myself. I stood in front of the mirror looked at my “child-bearing hips” and just started trying to pinpoint all my imperfections (I think no one in the world could have said meaner things to me than I was saying about myself.) it was horrible. But then I realized what I was doing…I looked in the mirror and began to laugh. I was doing exactly the opposite of what I set out to accomplish in the first place. I was cutting myself down instead of building myself up.  From that day forward I forced myself to stop that mentality. Whenever I would look in the mirror I would just say “well I rock today 🙂 ” and just smile. Don’t get me wrong it took me some time to do this without thinking about it, but it has helped me.  I can look in the mirror without wanting to jump off a cliff. It has even spiraled into a nice bit of self-confidence. You need to do the same.

Instead of looking in the mirror and pointing out the things you hate about yourself, try pointing out the things you love. Or if you started on the path to being healthy, start complementing yourself on your accomplishments…Yes, not eating that extra slice of delicious chocolate cake is a huge victory! Pat yourself on the back. Become your biggest fan. Forget what anyone else says the standard for beautiful is. And DO NOT compare yourself to girls in magazines…it is called Photoshop. Even my favorite store Khols is guilty of it. Last week their ad had a girl with the weirdest photoshopped thighs just to make it look like she had the infamous “thigh gap”. Again everyone is different, don’t give into it.

Love yourself. Be happy and healthy. Be fit. Be the best version of you that YOU think you can be…not the version society says is beautiful. You are beautiful no matter what.

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on March 28, 2014, in Fitness, Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

