It’s The Simple Things That Help You Relax

teatime

As I sat with the cursor blinking impatiently for me to type something, my brain decided to go on a wild ride and remind me of all the stressful things I have to deal with. My upcoming work meetings that always feel do or die, my fulltime university schedule, figuring out how to add an internship on top of that, and the list went on and on. So, I sat. Took a deep breath… and sipped my tea. And suddenly my brain stopped and all was right with the world…

The point I am trying to make (and doing a horrible job at explaining) is that you don’t always need to do something drastic to relax. It really is the little things that matter. For example my tea…no it has nothing magical about it. It is regular green tea, but what it allows me to do is distract myself for a moment. Instead of focusing on what could be potential impending doom (ok maybe a slight exaggeration) I pause and focus on what I am doing. Seriously, I sit back…take a few deep breaths…block everything out of my mind…and focus on enjoying my tea.

That is really the key, finding a moment of peace in your day. You can find it while sitting at a stop light, while drinking your coffee, or anywhere you can find it. You cannot deal with every single problem all at the same time. The worlds problems does not need to be on your shoulders every moment of every single day.take a moment to clear your mind and only focus on that moment. After you are done doing that you can prioritize  and focus on the problems one by one. Plus, sometimes after you take a moment to pause some of those situations do not feel as dire. So sit back, relax, and take some time to sip your tea really slowly. The world can wait until you are done 🙂

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on March 20, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

