Weight Doesn’t Mean Everything…Healthy Is What Matters

Beautiful-scale

It seems like we have become obsessed with the number on a scale, but that number doesn’t define who you are. It seems like when people start to work out the initial focus is to lose weight. That is understandable and a step in a good direction. But when you become obsessed with a certain weight and you don’t reach it you can get easily discouraged. Not only that but people carry weight differently. You can have two people who are the same weight, but different heights and one can look “husky” and the other one “skinny”. I have mentioned it before that I used to be in the military and was never at the “ideal weight” for someone my height (check that out here). Whenever we were weighed I always had to be pulled aside and had parts of my body measured to make sure I was proportional. It never failed they would look at my weight a little surprised…send me to the other station to get measure…that person would ask me why I was even there…and then move one. My proportions were always fine because I was built a certain way. I am curvy and have a few assets that I am proud of! It was just a weird cycle and seriously a bit frustrating. Having people look at you and see you as “normal” but having a scale tell you that you really need to drop the cupcake. And let me just say I will NEVER drop my cupcake!

There are two reasons why I say that. First, cupcakes are delicious…who are we kidding. And 2 because the scale does not define who you are. The most important thing is that you are at healthy weight. There are several ways you can find this information out but the easiest is if you go by your Body Mass Index. This is the chart that most doctors and researchers use to determine health risks related to weight. The BMI chart takes into account not just your height but also your weight. This chart is great to make sure that you are on the right track as far as your health and your weight, but it is not the end all when it comes to being a guide. It is great for people of average muscle density, but is not ideal for athletes, body builders, etc But again it is a great guide. Below is the Basic BMI chart. Again this is not the end all but a good point of reference for starting at. What you want is to be within your normal range which is a BMI of 18.5 to 24.9 So take a look, see where you are at and go from there, but the most important thing to remember is: You are awesome and never let a number dictate how you feel about yourself. Don’t work towards “skinny” just work towards “healthy”!!!

~Just Keep Moving Forward~

How To Use Chart: Find the point where your height and weight intersect. If you cannot find your weight for example 5’2 at 135lbs go to the closest block below your weight such as 130, do not go toward the 140 block. So that means that at 135 you are still within the normal range. For someone who is that height (me included) the most ideal BMI would be 22 but again anything within the range is good!bmi-chart
About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on March 14, 2014, in Fitness, Self <3, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

