Stressed? Find an Escape!

Yoga-FB

There is a very strong connection between stress and your health. You can go to the gym every single day or go on a diet, but if you cannot find a way to deal with stress it will begin to take a toll on your body. Stress can cause you to consume more food, it can trigger hair loss, and cause  you to feel other digestive issues like nausea and stomach pain. That is just to name a few things. Then you also has stress’ evil brother depression. If you deal with prolonged stress it can eventually evolve into depression…which can lead to more stress….which can lead to more depression. It is an evil cycle that can go on and on. You need to step off of the cycle and find ways to cope.

There are various ways to combat stress and you just need to find what works best for you. The first step to finding your inner happy place is to understand that you deserve time for yourself. Do not feel guilt for taking some time once a week, or even a little time every day for yourself. You need and deserve this time. There is nothing wrong with having a little “me time”. In fact it is encouraged. And during this time you should do something that you enjoy like reading a book, painting, spending time with family, or two of my favorites…baking and working out. Whatever you choose just make sure that it is something that makes you happy. It needs to be something that distracts you. Your problems will be there when you get back, you do not need to carry them everywhere with you.

I do want to take this moment to express that exercise can be more than just a way for you to get your body in shape, it can help your mind get in order. Exercise is one of the most under utilized forms of therapy that you can find. In most cases it is free, unless you join a class or a gym, but its effects will be life changing. I personally used to have a very hard time dealing with stress. In fact a could barely sleep at night because my mind was on the a million and a half other things. Yes, baking is my go to for dealing with stress, but it was not as freeing as when I went for a jog. One day I decided to lace up my sneakers and just go. Why did I do this? I have no idea because I have always hated running, even when I was in the military it was my least favorite thing to do. But this time it was different. I put my headphones on and just went. Then the most amazing thing happened…there was silence. My brain just stopped, all the scenarios stopped. The music became part of the background, and it was like everything just melted away. I had found my escape, and when I was done I was smiling. It was incredible. And it all happened because I tried something I normally wouldn’t have tried before. It became my time for peace…jogging became My Time. 

So yes, stress is overwhelming but if you can find a temporary escape, you will see a difference. Not only in how you feel, but also in the way that you perceive the stress. When you take a step back they will not seem as big when you return. So take an hour a day or even a day week and do something that you enjoy. Like I said, your troubles will be there when you get back, but maybe they won’t seem so big or important anymore.

~Just Remember You Are Worth It~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on February 27, 2014, in A Little Zen, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

