Valentines Day Treat-Strawberry Cookies w/White Chocolate

cookies

Cupid’s Kiss Cookies aka
Strawberry cookies and white chocolate chips

Everyone is starting to get all panicky trying to figure out what to buy or make for Valentine’s Day. I understand that this is mainly a time for couples but I like to share the love with my family and friends. I don’t really but into the hype of Valentines Day, in fact Chris and I celebrate it a few days after because we are weird and like it that way. So instead February 14 is a regular day for us but for my family they get a little extra something. This year I tried a couple of new recipes and though the other ones were super tasty these were the easiest and the cutest. For heaven sakes it is a pink cookie! How is that not adorable? I call them Cupid’s Kiss cookies. As I said before they are super easy to make, in fact the main ingredient is a box of cake mix! Yes you heard that right not need to measure out flour etc etc. A few ingredients and you are ready to go! These are really a variation of the basic gooey butter cookie recipe I wrote about before and trust me this one will not disappoint! Only problem is you won’t be able to stop at just one.

Ingredients
1 box Strawberry cake mix
1 package cream cheese (8 oz.)
1/2 cup softened butter
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-2 teaspoons strawberry extract
1 egg
powdered sugar to roll dough in 
White chocolate chips

Directions:

1.  Make sure you preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

2. In a medium sized bowl with an electric mixer combine the cream cheese and butter until they are smooth. Make sure you have no chunks of cream cheese.

3. Stir in the vanilla  extract, strawberry extract, and the egg. Once they are well incorporated slowly add in the cake mix. You might find that your dough is perfectly mixed and you still have 1/4 cup of cake mix left over…that’s fine you don’t need it.

4. Refrigerate over night OR if you are impatient like me put it in your freezer for 1 hour.  You want your dough to be firm.

5. Shape the dough into 1 inch sized balls and roll them in the powdered sugar. Place them an inch apart on a cookie sheet.

6. Bake 7-8 minutes and remove them from the oven. Hand place your white chocolate chips, make sure you do not deflate your cookies. (I add the white chocolate chips at this stage because if you put them in earlier they will brown a little while they bake. You want them nice and white).

7. Return your cookies back to the oven for another 5-6 minutes. Your cookies will not be hard, they are meant to be soft and gooey. Just make sure you do not see sections of raw batter. Remove the cookies carefully and let them cool (They will firm up as they cool).  Again these are a version of gooey butter cookies so make sure they are a nice and “gooey”.

8. Get a glass of milk and enjoy!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

