Simple Vanilla Icing

IMG_0446 copy
                                                                      Delicious Vanilla Icing

I love to make my own frosting/icing because they are really simple to make and if you can think of a flavor you can probably make it. Plus, sometimes the frosting at your grocery store can get boring. Don’t get me wrong, I still buy frosting from the store sometimes. Especially when I have to bake assorted cupcakes with different frosting. Making 4 different frosting and baking can be a bit much and who has a million mixing bowls? I have 1 set of them, there is no need for a million more…anyway icing. This is the icing that I used on my Apple Walnut Bundt Cake and it is delicious. Not only that you can decide if you want it nice and thick or delicate and thin. Either way it is perfect and you can really adapt it to exactly how you want it. And don’t be shy with the vanilla. This is a basic recipe but remember vanilla is your friend add more a little bit at a time until you get it right where you want it. For different variations of this icing you can try using different flavored extracts, don’t be afraid. And don’t worry I am here attempting different flavors to share with you. Next will be a pineapple orange frosting or a tasty peanut butter one. Soon you will have so many frosting ideas that you will think twice about grabbing a store bought frosting!

Icing:

1 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup heavy cream
4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
3 tablespoon water, plus extra, as needed (the water is used to make the icing as thick or as thin as you want)
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract (feel free to add more according to what you like, I just love vanilla)
 

1. In a food processor or with a hand mixer, combine the powdered sugar, heavy cream, cream cheese, 3 tablespoons water, and vanilla.

2. Process until smooth, adding more water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until the icing is pourable. Spoon the icing over the cake and allow to set for 20 minutes before slicing.

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Frostings, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

