Perspective, Sanity, and Your Health

a little zen

Perspective. The way you view things can really impact your day as well as your health. When you begin on your journey to be a healthier or fitter version of yourself it is important that you not neglect your mind. Your mental well-being is very important when it comes to leading a healthier life. Stress can cause your body to feel fatigued and actually can cause you to feel body aches. Anger triggers your brain into the “fight or flight” response which causes your blood pressure to rise and cause your heart rate and breathing to speed up. When you constantly do this to your body you will eventually wear yourself out and spiral into a depression. This is why perspective really matters.

There are times when anger and stress will try to consume you but you must learn to try to control these emotions. I fight them on almost a daily basis, when people cut me off as I am driving to work. Or when I am at the check out lane and the person in front of me is paying their $30 bill with nothing but change. In fact it is something that I am actively trying to learn to control. I am actively trying to find my zen. So what does that have to do with perspective? Well, look at both those situations and try to see both sides of them. The person that cut me off might not have been some evil jerk who doesn’t know how to drive. It may have been someone who just got a call that their family member is in the hospital. Or that person at the check out lane, they probably were not paying in coins to be annoying, it might be that was the only money that they could scrape together to buy that little bit of food. And if in each case the 2nd scenario was the real one then how can you be angry?

It is easy to get sucked into the mentality that our time is more valuable than another persons, or that our way of thinking is the best one. But this will take a toll on your life. Several years ago I had a much bleaker mentality than I do now. I had to provide for myself and one other person with no support. This individual latched onto my life and tried to steal me of my joy. I worked to provide a roof over our head, food in our bellies, and every other need that could possibly arise…I was only 20. I found that I would become extremely angry, fought bouts of depression, and I was always sick. My body was giving me all the warning signs that something was wrong. I ignored them, and then one day I woke up and realized things did not have to be this way. I left.

It took years to get out of where I was at both financially and emotionally. I had no self-worth and felt no hope. Family pulled me out of my depression and love set me free. I forgave that person and started to focus on getting my life together. Instead of blaming him for everything that went wrong, I started looking at it as a learning experience. All the horrible things that happened, I began to look at them as the trials that proved just how strong I truly was. Instead of focusing on the tangible items that I had lost I began to look at them as the price of starting over and being free.

When I let go of my anger and sorrow I began to feel like a different person. The depression stopped, the body pains, the fact I would constantly be sick all stopped. I was finally on the proper path and things were beginning to change. This is not to say that I am all butterflies and sunshine, I still have a long way to go. I am a work in progress, and that is ok. I guarantee you that if you were to randomly see me in the streets you would see a smile on my face, even if I was sad. Because no matter how tough a day can get there is always tomorrow. And no matter how slow the person is driving in front of you, you will still arrive at your destination.

So when you feel your temper flare up, or you feel the depression monster jumping on your back take a step back. Take a deep breath. And instead of letting those feelings overwhelm you, just try to look at things differently.Don’t focus on the negative things because you do not know what the other person is going through. Focus on all the good things that are in your life and just let go of the bad. You will feel the difference.

~Keep Moving Forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 23, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

