A Tasty and Easy Carrot Cake

Recipe Below

Recipe Below

I have never been  a fan of carrot cake but this recipe changed all of that. Growing up I was a very picky kid but as time went on that changed and I started to like trying new things. I saw this recipe on  Food Network and was really tempted to try it. The selling point? This carrot cake had a simple and delicious frosting. Yup, the siren song began and I was off to the store to but shredded carrots! The best part is that this  cake was eaten…no, devoured by the worlds most picky individuals…my uncle and his family. Lets just say that they came by a little unexpected, ate the cake, and were none the wiser that they just ate carrot cake. That was a true test because they do not eat vegetable at all! Getting a 5 year old to eat Brussel sprouts is easier!!! Oh, and I will admit I added my own touch to this recipe of course. Have I not told you I am the queen of adding vanilla to everything? By adding a dash of vanilla (approx 1 tsp but do it according to what you like) you can really elevate this cake and make it taste oh so good!

Ingredients
 2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of salt
2 cups sugar
1 cup oil
4 eggs
2 cups grated carrots (or those shredded carrots from the bag at the store just chop
1- 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (to your taste really)
 
Frosting:
1 stick of salted butter
1  package cream cheese 8 oz
1 pound of powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup chopped pecans
 
~Happy Baking~

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a big bowl blend together the sugar, oil, eggs, and the vanilla until they are nice and smooth.

3. In another bowl mix together the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together.  Slowly pour in to the bowl of wet ingredients and mix it together well. Make sure that it is not lumpy.

4. At this point grate your carrots, or if you took the easy way out and bought the shredded bag (like me) just give them a nice chop so that they are tiny.  Add them to the batter.

5. Take your Bundt pan, grease it well it and dust it with flour. I usually use PAM when baking but NOT when it comes to Bundt pans because I have had sections stick and that just is not good. Butter and flour makes it just pop right out!

6. Pour batter into bundt ban and bake for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out nice and clean. Let cool completely before trying to remove it from the pan!

Frosting: *this  recipe is also in the frosting section of my blog incase you want to make it some other time.

1. In a large bowl cream together the butter and cream cheese with your mixer until it is nice and smooth.

2.  Add the vanilla extract. Slowly add the powdered sugar. I add a little at a time, mix it, and then add more. Continue this process until it is well blended. This makes sure that you get a nice even mixture and makes sure you don’t have powdered sugar flying everywhere.

3. Once you are done mixing it together add the pecans. You can  mix those in with a spoon. Pour your frosting over the top of your fully cooled bundt cake. For a little extra pizzaz sprinkle some chopped pecans over the top of the Bundt cake.

~Enjoy~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 21, 2014, in Cakes and cupcakes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. hang on…you can buy shredded carrot?

    Like

  2. i love carrot cake. i didnt know of it until i went to germany and my host mother baked it for easter. so delicious!

    Like

    • I am usually not a fan of carrot cake but it was hard to resist. This one looked so good and the frosting was so tempting that I gave in and tried it. Now, it has become one of my favorites 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Carrot Coconut Bread | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

