Peanut Butter Cookies with a twist

peanut butter dunkers

It is Friday and I know I promised I would make a some type of frosting/ icing/ whipped topping but I did not have the time to make any this week because I have been studying for an exam. Yes, being in an accelerated degree program is awesome BUT gives you no time for a life. What makes life a little more bearable are cookies and then the workout to distract my mind…..and work off those cookies. One of my favorite cookies to snack on during study sessions are my Peanut Butter Dunkers. What makes these cookies special is that  I use the Reese’s Peanut Butter (yes they have this in the peanut butter aisle) and after my cookies cool I dunk them in melted chocolate and let the chocolate harden. The chocolate usually cools pretty fast and if you are impatient (like me) you can place them on wax paper and put them right in the fridge. When you take a bite into these cookies you will swear that you are eating a peanut butter cup. I beat you can’t eat just one 😉

~Happy Baking~

 Ingredients:
½ Cup sugar
½ Cup light brown sugar
½ Cup butter, room temp.
½ Cup Reese’s peanut butter
1 Eggs
1¼ Cup flour
¾ Teaspoon baking soda
½ Teaspoon baking powder
¼ Teaspoon salt
1 Bag cocoa wafers
 

Directions:
1. Beat the butter until creamy. Add the sugars and beat for approximately 2 minutes. Mix in the peanut butter and egg. In a separate bowl mix the dry ingredients flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Shape dough into small balls. Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten in crisscross pattern with a fork.

3. Bake until light brown, 9 to 10 minutes. Cool on baking sheets for a minute; transfer to rack to cool completely.

4. Once the cookies are cool place half the bag of cocoa wafers in a small bowl and microwave for 45 seconds or until melted. If the cocoa is not fully melted keep microwaving for 15 seconds.

5. Once the cookies are fully cooled dunk them 1/2 of the way in the chocolate, and place them on wax paper until they set. (The wax paper provides a great surface so that you can just slide the cookies off once the chocolate hardens)

6. Let chocolate harden and enjoy.

*makes 2 dozen cookies

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

