Worrying and stress vs. your sanity

myzen1

It is very easy to get into that mode where you are worrying about what you are going to do tomorrow, what you will do tonight, and what your plans are for the rest of your life. I can admit that I fall into that category. I have the tendency to think about every single possible scenario that could occur and just end up working myself into a big ball of stress. Early in 2013 I started freaking out about my job (I was new to it) and almost every single way that I could possible screw up and get fired.  There was even one scenario where I accidentally pushed the wrong button on my computer and the building imploded! Why was there this magical button on my keyboard that made everything implode?…I have no clue but in my mind it was a very real possibility. The point to my random story is that there is no point in stressing out over everything, all it will do is make you sick. Stress has very real effects on the body and you need to sit down and decide what is real, what you made up, and what can be put  off. Not every single situation needs your attention right away.

What you need to realize, and what I am learning, is that sometimes you need to change your perspective. Not every situation is “do or die” and not every situation needs to be dealt with right now. Take a little time out to look at the situation and see what realistically needs to be done right now, if anything at all. A wonderful moment to do this is when you are driving. Turn your radio down, take a few deep breaths and clear your mind. Take this time to allow yourself peace. Then go through each “problem” one by one. Decide if that problem is a priority (No they are all not!) and ask yourself: Do I need to deal with it right now? Does this make any difference to your day if you don’t deal with it today?  If you answered no then you can remove that one off of your shoulders. Now move onto the next one until they are all sorted out. Once you have that part of it figured out you can come up with a more realistic game plan and not feel like you are drowning. You need to just take time out to focus, prioritize, and figure out a plan that doesn’t leave you feeling drained. And if you ever come up with a scenario where you hit a red button and everything explodes ignore it…unless you work with explosives ;).

Don’t let stress build up against you. If you start focusing on everything that could possibly go wrong you will never enjoy your day. Again, I have been there. Every single thing I could possibly worry about I did worry about! It made me physically ill and when that happens it can lead to depression. Yes, there are things that you can rightfully be concerned about, but you don’t have to be concerned about every little thing. Don’t let that leaky faucet make you miserable all day. And don’t let that messed up pie you just tried baking make you feel like you are a failure. Bad things happen, just focus on the good things, and be thankful for them. Change your perspective and you will see how much better you will begin to feel.

~Just keep moving forward~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on January 9, 2014, in A Little Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Dear friend, Thank you very much, I was really happy to have been following your blog. I’m still a lot to figure out, and here I can only say that you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thanks and greetings compassion from Gede Prama 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

