Killer Apple Dumplings…delicious and oh so easy to make

Apple Dumpling Recipe below

Apple Dumpling Recipe below

When I tell you that these will be the easiest and most delicious apple dumplings you will ever make I am not exaggerating! This recipe is so easy and the results are amazing. I would never steer you the wrong way. I bake and attempt to perfect these recipes before I present them to you. Pretty much my family are the guinea pigs so that you don’t have to be.  This recipe is from Food Network and I have modified it to make it a little easier to make. It made me hesitate but I like to be a rebel with my baking and this was one of those times that I did not regret it. Now brace yourself because the secret ingredient is…Mountain Dew! Yes, sounds weird but these dumplings will not taste like soda I promise. The mountain dew bakes down and creates this delicious sauce at the bottom of the pan that you can spoon onto your dumplings. After I made this recipe my family went nuts and I ended up baking them three days in a row! If that isn’t a sign of a good recipe I don’t know what is.  This recipe requires all of  7 ingredients and is done in less than 25 minutes. It is so easy that I actually bake it in my toaster oven.

Ingredients:
1 tube Crescent roll dough (8oz,)
3/4 cups sugar
1 stick salted butter 
1 green apple
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
cinnamon to taste
2.5 ounces of mountain dew

1. Preheat oven or toaster oven to 350 degrees. Peel and core 1 green apple.  Cut it into 8 pieces. If you have one of those corers that chop it into 8 pieces for you that seems to be the easiest route to go. If not try to make sure that your wedges are similar sizes.

2. Pop open the crescent roll dough and place 1 wedge in each of the triangles (place them at the wide end). Roll up your crescent roll from the wide end with the apple all the way up. Do this exactly as you would if you were making a regular crescent roll. Place each roll in a square baking dish seam side down.

3. Place your butter in a medium sized microwave safe bowl and microwave it until it is fully melted. I prefer to start with 30 seconds and then keep adding 15 seconds until it is fully melted.

4. Add the sugar and vanilla extract to your butter and mix together. Do not panic about it not being smooth, it is supposed to look gritty.

5. Take your sugar mixture and spoon over your dumplings trying to cover as much as you can. I like to pour it over the middle then spread to the side.

6. Now for the secret ingredient…. evenly pour the mountain dew on the outer sides of the dumpling. If you feel a little adventurous you can pour some over the top as well.

7. Sprinkle cinnamon over the top to taste. If you aren’t a fan of cinnamon you can skip this step.

8. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a nice golden brown color. You may notice that the bottom is not hard like the top and that is okay. As long as the top is a nice brown color and the apple is baked through you are fine. The bottom will be a little soft almost gooey but it tastes heavenly.

9. Cool for 10-15 minutes! This step is very important because it allows the dumpling to absorb some of the juices at the bottom of the pan. It also allows those juices to turn into a nice thin syrup that you will want to spoon over the dumpling. Add a scoop of ice cream and enjoy.

~Happy Baking~

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on December 28, 2013, in Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really like wht you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and
    reporting! Keep up the great works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

    Like

Leave a Reply

