Exercise…turning that frown upside down

happy

Before I started working out my answer to a horrible day was a glass of wine, maybe a cupcake, and killing stuff on my Xbox360.  It didn’t really make me feel much better because I would sit there and just replay the day and get angrier and angrier. Not only that, but I would sit for hours upon hours playing video games. (I now try avoiding my Xbox because I really am unable to just play for an hour, especially when I am saving the Galaxy from being destroyed.) Once I started working out…especially jogging that all changed. It was like I finally entered into a magical place where all my frustrations would  just melt away. For the first time ever I found an activity that put my brain on pause and not just that I actually would feel better afterword. My first thought after a bad day was no longer to sit in front of the TV, it became I Need to go Jog! It became the escape that I desperately needed.

This isn’t a coincidence it is actually science. When you have a quick 20 minute workout releases endorphins and can affect something called Brain Derived Neurotrophic Factor (BDNF). Fancy words aside it pretty much means that by exercising there will be “feel good” chemicals released into your body and you will literally feel a little happier. Exercise has been proven to help fight depression and stress because of these magical chemicals and the best part is…It’s free! (unless you have a gym membership)

So the next time you have a crappy day just lace up your sneakers and leave your cares behind. Go for a jog, break out the punching bag, or go do yoga! It doesn’t matter what exercise you choose just put your stress on the back burner and focus on you! Your workout will make you feel better and has much more rewarding results.

~Don’t use a bad day as an excuse not to workout because it is actually the best reason you should!~

 

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on December 20, 2013, in Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

