Marie’s Gooey Butter Cookies

gooey

My friend Marie and her family have a Christmas cookie baking day every single year. They make dozens upon dozens of cookies for Christmas and she is always kind enough to share some. Out of all the cookies she makes her Gooey Butter Cookies are by far my most favorite cookie. The name is a bit misleading, they aren’t super gooey. They are soft, moist, and only a tiny bit “gooey”. These cookies are so good that you will not be able to resist eating a ton of them. I like to think I have will power; I can usually control myself when it comes to sweets…but not with these. She gave me my set of these cookies at 7am and yes I ate one…okay I ate 3! These cookies are the reason why I have to workout a little more around Christmas time… but it is worth it! The best part is that the main ingredient of this recipe consists of using a box of cake mix, what more could you want? Caution: To get the best results you must let the batter refrigerate over night! This will allow you to form the cookie without making a huge mess. So go ahead, enjoy the recipe, and indulge!

~Happy Baking~

1 box yellow cake mix
1 package cream cheese (8 oz.)
1/2 cup softened butter
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
powdered sugar to roll dough in 

1.  Make sure you preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

2. In a medium sized bowl mix the cream cheese and butter until they are well combined, Make sure you have no chunks of cream cheese.

3. Stir in the vanilla and the eggs, after that stir in the cake mix. Make sure that all of the ingredients are mix well together. refrigerate over night

4. Shape the dough into 1 inch sized balls and roll them in the powdered sugar. place them an inch apart on a cookie sheet.

5. Bake 10-15 minutes or until they are set. These cookies should be a gold buttery cookie, not hard and dark. Set these on a cooling rack and enjoy.

For a cute presentation you can sprinkle some powdered sugar over the top before you serve them.

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on December 13, 2013, in Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

