The Magic of Green Tea

yummy teaI have never really cared for tea growing up. I was a coffee drinker. Give me milk, a ton of sugar and a drop of coffee and I was happy. It wasn’t until earlier this year that I even gave green tea a second look. Actually, it took four or even five looks to get me to even drink it. The only reason I even tried it was because I was reading about how magical it was for health and weight loss. Yes, I will admit it the weight loss part had me first, but everything else won me over. Now it is my morning drink, I can’t even function properly without it. In fact as I sit here typing I am sipping on this magical and tasty drink. Ok its green tea with raspberry and goji berry cut me a break.

So what is so magical about green tea? Well, green tea has this thing called catechins which helps fight inflammation,  lowers heart disease and cancer risk, and also fights fat accumulation and cholesterol levels. That is pretty amazing stuff! The antioxidants in green tea are powerful and do lower the chance of certain cancers like lung cancer, prostate cancer and skin cancer, and that’s by just drinking a couple of cups a day. It can lower blood pressure, helps to keep your joints healthy, and the EGCG compound in green tea can help with allergies. Some studies even show that if you drink a cup of green tea an hour before working out it can help you burn more fat! Yes, this is truly a magical drink and the best part is you can just go to the supermarket and buy a box.

I have been asked before about things like Arizona green tea and if it still works. Well I am not a scientist, but the studies done have been with regular hot green tea. To get the key antioxidants and benefits it must be steeped for 3-4 minutes. If you are buying the premade stuff you can’t guarantee that you are getting the full benefits of the tea. I promise there are lots of different types of boxed green tea and you will find one that you like. I mentioned my favorite before Lipton’s Superfruit Green tea with Raspberry and Goji berry. I love the stuff and when I don’t have it I go through withdrawal. But seriously they really have a variety that you can try and if you wanted a fruiter flavor for breakfast Lipton make this coconut and passion fruit green tea that is really tasty too.  There are so many benefits to green tea and all you have to do is drink a couple of cups a day to get them.

So sit back, relax, and enjoy a cup of Green Tea!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on December 5, 2013, in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

