The Scale isn’t Everything…You are More than a Number

a-da-mo-21

People act like the scale is the say all end all. That if you are not a certain weight you are not as beautiful or handsome. They act like the scale is telling you how much you are worth…but scales lie! If you really want to know how you are progressing then you need to take a step back away from the scale. It is easy to become obsessed with a certain number but it might not be a healthy weight for you. The best thing that you can do for yourself and your sanity is to forget about the scale and get seamstress measuring tape. This will show you for sure if you are trimming down your waist, building up your arms, or firming up those thighs.

I speak of this from experience! I am a very short woman, just shy of 5’2 and when I was in the military we had to meet certain physical standards. Unfortunately, I have certain curves (no wait, not unfortunately I love my curves!) and it has always made me be considered over weight for my height. So what would happen? Well, you need to meet certain standards for the military so they would tell me to go to the next station to get “taped”. I would get to the station and the Sergeant would normally look at me and  wonder why I was there…I have always just been “curvy”. So at this station they would measure the usual areas, waist, wrist, bust, etc and then they would tell me I was proportionally correct and I would go merrily on my way.

So what does that little story have to do with anything? Well, it was meant to show you that weight is not the end all. You can have 2 people who weight 130lbs standing side by side and they could carry it so differently. Not only that but muscle takes up less space than fat but weighs more. You need to make sure that you take your measurements and keep track so that you can see the difference. I am not saying throw away your scale. It can be helpful when you are first starting out on your journey but don’t let it discourage you. Recently I have increase the amount of time I have been exercising but the scale did not move at all, in fact it went up one pound! The crazy thing was my pants were fitting a little looser, so I pulled out my tape measurer and low and behold I lost 2 inches around my waist. The scale doesn’t say everything.  In case I haven’t made my point yet the picture below is of 5 beautiful women who are the same weight! They have different heights, different body types, different pant sizes, and are just plain different. It is unfair to try and compare them all based on a scale. The best way to see their actual progress is by taking their measurements or by checking your body mass index.

Don’t hold your self to a magic number on a scale you are much more than that!

iphone-20120418164236-1

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on November 30, 2013, in Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I totally agree about the scale thing. I’m in the military so I know oh too well about the height and weight requirements. I’m barely 5’3 and the scale says 190lb, but when they tape me my body percent fat is only 32%. People carry their fat differently, especially short women.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Weight Doesn’t Mean Everything…Healthy Is What Matters | Eunicakes

  2. Pingback: Eunicakes

Leave a Reply

