Get started by taking a few steps…10,000 to be exact

jogging-walking-sneakers-feet-628x363

It seems like everywhere you turn you hear the glories of taking 10,000 steps a day. This is the magic number that experts say all individuals should do on a daily basis. At first it sounds a bit overwhelming but it translates to roughly 5 miles per day.
For some people this may seem like an easy task but for others this number might seem like an unattainable goal. If you can’t reach 10,000 steps in a day it is OK! The way I see it is that 10,000 is a wonderful goal, but even if you only increase your steps by 200 or 1000 you are still making progress. You are taking the incentive and making a change in your life for the better. If you have a desk job it can be hard to reach that many steps in a day…I work behind a desk and then on some days I go to school after work. Yes, the wonderful “benefits” of trying to get another degree by taking night classes.  Anyway, I am behind a desk almost all day sometimes so I am lucky if I can get even half that. I try finding different excuses to walk to the front office, or just any excuse to walk and stretch out my legs. I have even resorted to walking in place on my breaks. So how can you get started?

The first thing I can recommend is get a small pedometer. It doesn’t have to be fancy, it just has to work.  The next thing you should do is wear it for a few days and keep track of how many steps you take a day on average. By doing this you can see where you are and how many steps you need to take  to get closer to 10,000.  After you figure out your average try to increase it at a rate that works for you. Start with anywhere from an additional 100-2000 steps per day and when you are comfortable try to increase it. The whole point is to make sure you increase your daily activity. Even if you cannot reach that 10,000 steps you are still increasing your physical activity, and that is what really matters. This is a small change that you can add into your day without having to sacrifice anything. Use this as a stepping stone for a healthier and fit loge. I fully believe that any step (no pun intended) toward a healthy lifestyle is important. Even if you can only add 100 or 1000 steps to your day you are still getting some additional health benefit. Don’t be hard on yourself, if you are, all that will lead to is giving up. Remember something is better than nothing! Make small changes here and there and in no time you will see changes in how you look and feel.

Just Keep Moving Forward 😉

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on November 27, 2013, in Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

