Exercise vs. the Winter

 Motivation

I don’t know about you but sometimes it is hard for me to get up and start working out. Especially during the winter whenI am nice and toasty on my couch with a huge cup of green tea….or hot chocolate. Sometimes telling myself that I am doing this for a healthier heart doesn’t help. In fact sometimes that little voice in my head telling me to stay wrapped up can be a little obnoxious and even rude. It usually goes like this:

me: ok time to work out

Voice in my head: NOOO it is so warm under here. Don’t move! Just watch this interesting commercial on Brawny towels. Look it is soaking up a purple stain!

So how do I fight that voice in my head? I bribe myself! I am not kidding.  At the beginning of each month I write what exercises I will do on what day and if I complete my goal I get myself a reward. I try to work out 6 days a week if I can. Between a fulltime job, full time school, and all the million things I have to do it is hard to squeeze that in but it is my goal. When you make it a goal and see a tangible reward you will lose if you don’t get up and move it will motivate you. If you are just starting out make it a goal to exercise 2-3 times a week. If you accomplish exercising on those days then reward yourself with something, a new movie, a new pair of shows, a new videogame. Find something small that you will look forward to getting at the end of the week. If you want take it a step further and add an additional bonus for the end of the month! Still reward yourself weekly but pick something you will buy if you exercise say 15 days in month.

If you want to see the chart I use for my month motivations just message me and I will post it up. There is nothing wrong with rewarding yourself for working out. That little motivation may not seem like a lot but trust me when you have something tangible you will miss out on you will find a way to sneak in at least 15 minutes!

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on November 26, 2013, in Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for this! I find it easier to motivate myself to workout if I do a “7 day challenge/30 day challenge”. Right now I’ve started doing a 30 day yoga challenge and it is seriously so much fun I want to do a couple days all at once! Definitely having a set plan is so much easier to follow than trying to figure out what to do that day for a workout.

    Like

Leave a Reply

