Exercise of the week: The Russian Twist

This weeks wonderful exercise is the Russian Twist. By wonderful I mean utterly evil but awesome for your core. For some reason when you try and look up pictures of this exercise on the internet all of the people are smiling. You will not feel happy and giddy as you do this, and if you are then you are doing it wrong 😉 . It looks easy enough to do but looks can be deceiving. You start off in sitting position (easy right?), now lift your feet and lean back like in the graphic below. You should tighten/ flew your abs to get the most out of this workout. It doesn’t stop…now twist your upper half left and then right, that is one set. Continue doing this for at least 15-20 sets for beginners or if you are more advanced then do what you can, I do 40 before I start feeling like I am dying.

Make it easier:This exercise can be hard if you are just starting off, so to make it easier keep don’t lift your feet. Once you feel that your core is strong enough you can upgrade to raising your feet.

Make it harder: If you want to kick this exercise up a notch try holding a weight in your hands. I use a 8 lb weight but I recommend starting with a 5 lb weight and working your way up. Trust your body, if it feels like it is too much it probably is.

Good old Russian Twist

About Eunice

I like to joke that I am "a well of useless information" but for once I can share that information with people that might want to listen. I love trying new things and now I have an audience to share it with...hopefully. I hope you enjoy what you read :)

Posted on November 21, 2013, in Exercise of the week, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

